Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Sarcasm

I have always disliked the use of sarcasm. I especially hate when people use it in the wrong way. Sarcasm should only be used when you know someone well enough that they know you are "joking". I have met someone who used sarcasm on me within the first 5 minutes of meeting me and it was not at all pleasant.

I think we are using the word "sarcasm" wrongly! Here is the definition: sarcasm: [Greek sarkasmos, "to tear the flesh" (used of dogs)] literally: to speak bitterly; a taunting, sneering, a cutting remark; it implies intent to hurt by taunting with mocking ridicule. When the speaker says, "I appreciate your help," when no help was provided to the speaker.

it implies INTENT TO HURT. I thought that sarcasm was used to joke with a friend. We are wrongly using the term. It is NOT sarcasm (we do not intend to hurt who we speak with) but it is IRONY.

irony/ironic/al [Greek: feigned ignorance] the use of words to express something other than and especially the opposite of the literal meaning, as when expressing praise where blame is meant. "This was a truly smart thing to do!" "My, you are early!" The irony of calling a stupid plan clever. Or: a combination of circumstances or a result that is the opposite of what is or might be expected considered appropriate: "The irony that the fire station burned down."

get it right.

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Canada Geese


I just discovered that Canada geese (Branta canadensis) eat grass! I found it very funny that I did not know.
I've always noticed these geese in fields and in grassy areas. I see them picking through the grass, as if they were searching for something. I assumed they ate insects in the grass, or a plant that grows within the grass. I did not realize they just ate the grass! This is one of the rare birds that does eat grass. It is a herbivore just like a cow! No wonder their feces are clumpy sort of like a horses.

Sunday, March 22, 2009

Milan my Parakeet

AFTER















BEFORE














Here's my parakeet, he is still probably under a year old. Lately he has been changing. When I first got him, his face was plain. Recently, he developed big dark spots on his face! Look at the before and after photos. This spots indicate that he is reaching sexual maturity. The dots are to attract the female and are used in selecting the most masculine male.
So far, Milan only has spots on HALF of his face! I hope the other ones grow in, he looks funny and is asymmetrical.